The Media Have Their Say at the 2018 Travel Media Awards

This years Travel Media awards took place on the 7th of June in Dublin. These awards are the only travel awards where the media get to vote for their favourite travel companies.


The annual Travel Media awards are now in their eighth year and were once again presented by esteemed travel writers Fionn Davenport and Deirdre Mullins. Members of the Irish travel trade as well as industry colleagues from overseas, joined travel journalists for a fun filled afternoon at Dublin’s Shelbourne Hotel.

travel media awards

This year saw the introduction of four new categories, Best Luxury Hotel Group, Best Destination Representative, Best Themepark and Best breakout Irish Travel Writer. I was personally delighted to be the runner-up in this years Best Travel Blog category, an award which was won by award winning journalist Tom Sweeney for his blog, Tom Sweeney’s Travels.

The full winners list are:

  • Best Short Haul Airline – Aer Lingus
  • Best Long Haul Airline Flying West – Aer Lingus
  • Best Long Haul Airline Flying East – Emirates
  • Best Airport Lounge (Worldwide) – Turkish Airlines, Istanbul Ataturk Airport
  • Best Luxury Hotel Group – Hastings Hotel
  • Best Budget Hotel Group – Clayton Hotels
  • Best Spa & Leisure Offering – Inchydoney Island Lodge & Spa
  • Best Cruise Company – Royal Caribbean International
  • Best Ferry Company – Stena Line
  • Best Canal or River Cruise Company – Uniworld Boutique River Cruises
  • Best Car Hire Company – Hertz
  • Best Tour Operator – Sunway
  • Best Online Travel Agent – GoHop
  • Best Ski Operator – Crystal Ski Holidays
  • Best Travel Insurance Provider – Blue Insurance
  • Best City or Short Break Destination – London
  • Best Destination Representative – Tryphavana Cross
  • Best Theme Park (Worldwide) – Universal Orlando Resort
  • Best Tourist Board or CVB – Spanish Tourism Office
  • Best Use of Social Media by a Travel Company Operating in the Irish Market – Tour America
  • Best Instagram Account by an Irish Travel Writer or Blogger – @WhereisTaraBlog (Tara Povey)
  • Best Breakout Irish Travel Writer – Sarah Glascott,
  • Best Irish Travel Blog – Tom Sweeney’s Travels
  • Pleasure to Work With 2018 – Tom Travers, Hotel Beacon NYC
  • Amadeus Innovator Award – Richard Burgess, APG
  • Shannon Airport Lifetime Achievement Award – Alan Sparling, ASM Ireland



The Travel Expert Sarah Slattery

Similar Posts